

# NORTHWESTERN POLYTECHNIC BOARD OF GOVERNORS

## **Board Meeting Minutes**

Friday, August 23, 2024 9 AM – 10:30 AM | Edmonton

In Attendance: Shawna Miller, Brent Cage, Andrew Pietsch, Cody Beairsto, Heather Kerschbaumer,

Darlene Horseman, Jason Forbes, Ken Wittig, Lydell Torgerson, Chevayah Ropcean,

Karthika Jyotheendran, Sathish Babu, Vanessa Sheane

Regrets: Dennis Landis, Tyler May, Michael McMann,

Guests: Jarem Gurney, Cindy Park, Thomas Watts, Terry Kowalchuk

Records: Krista Schuett

#### 1. Call to Order

Meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM

#### 2. Land Acknowledgement

Territory Acknowledgement: We would like to acknowledge the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 6 region, the Metis Nations of Alberta (Districts 9 and 10) and the surrounding Metis settlements. We would also like to acknowledge the Indigenous communities of northern Alberta, which include the Treaty 8 region, the Metis Nation of Alberta affiliated districts, and the northern Metis settlements. We recognize and honor the rich cultural history of this place, now called the City of Edmonton, which has, for centuries, been a traditional gathering place for Indigenous peoples from across Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan.

#### 3. Approval of Agenda

#### Approval of August 23, 2024, Agenda

Moved by Andrew Pietsch, seconded by Ken Wittig that the Board of Governors approve the agenda as presented.

### 4. Approval of Minutes

4.1 Approval of May 30, 2024, Minutes

Moved by Lydell Torgerson, seconded by Vanessa Sheane that the Board of Governors approve the May 30, 2024, minutes as presented.

#### 5. Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

No conflicts were declared.

### 6. Proposed Motions

Received for information.

#### 7. Finance Committee

7.1 Chair Summary
Presented by Lydell Torgerson.

## 7.2 Annual Report

Moved by Lydell Torgerson, seconded by Brent Cage, that the Board of Governors approve the 2023-2024 Annual report with discussed edits.

Carried 6126 / 2024

7.3 Q1 Financial Report
Presented and accepted as information.

#### 8. In-Camera Session

Moved by Cody Beairsto, seconded by Darlene Horseman, that the Board of Governors move incamera at 9:40 AM.

Moved by Chevayah Ropcean, seconded by Ken Wittig, that the Board of Governors exit incamera at 9:58 AM.

#### 9. Next Meeting

October 24, 2024, Grande Prairie

#### 10. Adjournment